Our Minds Matter Honored By Governor’s Office On Service And Volunteerism

Thirteen Youth Individuals And Groups Awarded Among More Than 100 Applicants


The Governor’s Office on Service and Volunteerism hosted its inaugural Youth Service Awards ceremony on August 20 with featured speaker Lieutenant Governor Boyd K. Rutherford. Among more than 100 applicants, 10 individuals and three groups were honored for their significant community service in Maryland. One of those groups was the student-led Our Minds Matter group from Severna Park High School.

“I was honored to meet these incredible youth awardees who have made the future of Maryland brighter by changing Maryland for the better,” Rutherford said. “Thank you to the Governor’s Office on Service and Volunteerism for recognizing the significant influence of civic-minded and selfless youth. Through initiating the Youth Service Awards, we are encouraging a new generation of compassionate, community-minded individuals.”

The awardees were selected through a competitive review process by a panel of distinguished community leaders and state representatives in charge of volunteer programs across Maryland. Families and mentors of the selected youth are invited to celebrate their contribution to communities.

“Maryland has fantastic youth who sacrifice their time for the betterment of our communities, and it is important to recognize their efforts,” said Steve McAdams, executive director of the Governor’s Office of Community Initiatives. “We hope to help cultivate our youth to be leaders in our state who champion qualities such as a service to others, respect for all communities, and an awareness of the issues that affect Marylanders every day.”

The following youth and youth groups were recipients of the Youth Service Awards:

Youth Group Recipients
• Our Minds Matter (Anne Arundel County)
• Baltimore City College Writing Center (Baltimore City)
• Sho’men Youth Swim Team Volunteer Club (Kent and Queen Anne’s counties)

Youth Individual Recipients
• Shreeya Khurana, Montgomery Blair High School
• Makenzie Greenwood, Shiloh Middle School
• Michaela West, St. Joseph’s Regional Catholic School
• Ryan Freeman, Saints Peter & Paul High School
• Brian Thompson, The John Carroll School
• Ashley Williams, Chopticon High School
• Celina Davis, Francis Scott Key High School
• Lea Joy Peck, Kent Island High School
• Noah Gainsburg, Friends School of Baltimore
• Natalie Summers, homeschool


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here